110475F – ICT60220 Advanced Diploma of Information Technology

Course Overview

This qualification reflects the role of individuals in a variety of information and communications
technology (ICT) roles who have significant experience in specialist technical skills, or
managerial business and people management skills.

Individuals in these roles carry out complex tasks in a specialist field, working independently,
leading a team or a strategic direction of a business. They apply their skills across a wide range
of industries and business functions, or as a business owner (sole trader/contractor).

The skills required for these roles may include, but are not restricted to:

  • advanced data management information: creating, designing and monitoring complex
    systems that store data, and optimising organisational knowledge management
  • cyber security: protecting sensitive data and information through security architecture,
    and developing disaster recovery and contingency plans
  • full stack web development: building advanced user interfaces, developing
    representational state transfer application program interfaces (REST APIs) and
    designing user experience solutions
  • further programming: applying advanced ICT languages to maintain security and
    manage data
  • IT strategy and organisational development: managing and communicating strategic ICT
    business solutions
  • systems development and analysis: modelling and testing data objects, data processes
    and preferred ICT system solutions
  • telecommunications network engineering: managing logistics, organisational
    specifications, regulations and legislative requirements across network projects.

Quick Facts

Course name: Advanced Diploma of Information Technology
VET National Code: ICT60220
CRICOS Course Code: 1110475F
Duration: 52 Weeks (including 16 Weeks holiday)

Tuition Fee: $12,000 per year.

Job Opportunities

The ICT60220 Advanced Diploma of Information Technology qualification can lead to
various career opportunities with job titles such as:

  • Cyber Security Consultant
  • IT Project Manager
  • Software Manager
  • ICT Systems Administrator
  • Network Administrator
  • IT Support Analyst
  • IT Manager
  • ICT Consultant

Entry Requirements

International Students

Completed equivalent to Australian Grade 12, and demonstrated English proficiency level as per below:

  • All students must be over 18
  • Achieved IELTS band 6 *(with no individual band below 5.5) or equivalent score in acceptable English Language Tests (PTE, TOEFL, or OET) Or Minimum test score IELTS 5 or equivalent with either 20 weeks ELICOS.
  • Completion of Certificate IV or higher-level qualification in Australia in the last two years Or
  • Achieved satisfactory score in English placement test as conducted by the College (Level 3 or higher in CSPA ACER LLN test will meet the requirements for this purpose)

*You must have completed the English language test within either:

  • the 2 years before the date your visa application is lodged.
  • the 2 years before a decision is made on your visa application if you did not provide evidence of the English language test at the time your application was lodged.

Please contact the College for further information

Assessments will be conducted through a combination of questioning, practical demonstration,
presentations, role-plays and observations.

We offer everyone the opportunity to apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) at enrolment. Students may be granted credit or partial credit in recognition of skills and knowledge gained through work experience, life experience and/or prior training.

Upon successful completion of ICT60220 Advanced Diploma of Information Technology, you
may undertake further studies in the field of ICT.

CAC Sydney Campus – Level 1, 7 Hassall Street, Parramatta, NSW 2150

Course Structure

Total number of units = 16

6 core units  plus
10 elective units , of which:

  • at least 7 units must be selected from the elective units listed below
  • up to 3 units may be selected from the remaining listed elective units or from this or any
    currently endorsed Training Package or accredited course where the units are packaged
    in an Australian Qualification Framework (AQF) Level 5 or 6 qualification.

The units delivered by CAC are as follows:

Core Units

1. BSBCRT611 Apply critical thinking for complex problem solving
2. BSBTWK502 Lead and manage team effectiveness
3. BSBXCS402 Promote workplace cyber security awareness and best practices
4. ICTICT608 Interact with clients on a business level
5. ICTICT618 Manage IP, ethics and privacy in ICT environments
6. ICTSAD609 Plan and monitor business analysis activities in an ICT environment

Elective Units

7. CPPSEC5004 Develop security risk management plans
8. CPPSEC5005 Implement security risk management plans
9. ICTNWK544 Design and implement a security perimeter for ICT networks
10. ICTNWK620 Design and implement wireless network security
11. ICTNWK537 Implement secure encryption technologies
12.ICTNWK624 – Configure advanced internetwork routing solutions
13. ICTNWK619 Plan, configure and test advanced server based security
14.ICTNWK625 – Plan and configure advanced internetwork switching solutions
15. ICTNWK538 Install and maintain valid authentication processes
16. ICTNWK540 Design, build and test network servers

CAC has relationships with Education Agents to recruit students on our behalf. For a full list of our approved Agents, please refer to the Our Agents page on our website.

Intake Dates: 2024
Term 1
09Jan 05Feb
04Mar 01Apr
Term 2
4 May 01 Apr
29 June
Term 3
22 Jul  19 Aug
16 Sep
Term 4
14 Oct 11 Nov
09 Dec

All students undertaking nationally recognised training must have a USI in order to receive a qualification.