22603VIC Certificate IV in Cyber Security

Course Overview

The Certificate IV in Cyber Security is a technician level course. It provides participants with knowledge
and a range of technical skills to enable them to seek employment as a cyber security technician in a
range of organizations and government bodies.

Quick Facts

Course name: Certificate IV in Cyber Security
VET National Code: 22603VIC
CRICOS Course Code: 11604D
Duration: 52 Weeks (including 16 Weeks holiday)

Tuition Fee: $12,000 for 12 months duration ($3,000 per term).

Job Opportunities

The 22603VIC Certificate IV in Cyber Security qualification can lead to various career
opportunities with job titles such as:

  • Cyber Security Technician
  • Cyber security Consultant
  • Computer helpdesk technician
  • Cyber security intrusion tester
  • Cyber security support officer
  • Security penetration tester
  • Information systems technician
  • Website security support officer

Entry Requirements

All students must be over 18

International Students

  • Must have completed equivalent to Australian Grade 12, and
  • IELTS band 5.5 (with no individual band below 5.0) or equivalent

Domestic Students

  • Must have completed Grade 12, or
  • Achieve ACSF Level 4 in a Language, Literacy and Numeracy assessment

Assessments will be conducted through a combination of questioning, practical demonstration,
presentations, role-plays and observations.

We offer everyone the opportunity to apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) at enrolment. Students may be granted credit or partial credit in recognition of skills and knowledge gained through work experience, life experience and/or prior training.

Upon successful completion of 22603VIC Certificate IV in Cyber Security, you may undertake
Diploma of Information Technology.

CAC Sydney Campus – Level 1, 7 Hassall Street, Parramatta, NSW 2150

Course Structure

To achieve the qualification 22603VIC – Certificate IV in Cyber Security the learner must
successfully complete a total of sixteen (16) units comprising:
– eight (8) core units
– eight (8) elective units selected from the elective list below.
Where the full course is not completed, a VET Statement of Attainment will be issued for each unit
successfully completed.

The units delivered by CAC are as follows:

  1. BSBWHS309 Contribute effectively to WHS communication and consultation processes (C)
  2. BSBINS401 Analyse and present research information (C)
  3. ICTICT443 Work collaboratively in the ICT industry (C)
  4. VU23223 Apply cyber security legislation, privacy and ethical practices (C)
  5. VU23213 Utilise basic network concepts and protocols required in cyber security (C)
  6. VU23215 Test concepts and procedures for cyber security (C)
  7. VU23217 Recognise the need for cyber security in an organisation (C)
  8. VU23220 Develop and carry out a cyber security industry project (C)


  1. VU23222 Expose website security vulnerabilities (E)
  2. ICTNWK546 Manage network security (E)
  3. VU23219 Manage the security infrastructure for an organisation (E)
  4. VU23221 Evaluate and test an incident response plan for an enterprise (E)
  5. VU23224 Identify the implications of cloud-based security systems (E)
  6. VU23216 Perform basic cyber security data analysis (E)
  7. ICTSUS501 Implement server virtualisation for a sustainable ICT system (E)
  8. ICTICT517 Match ICT needs with the strategic direction of the enterprise (E)

CAC has relationships with Education Agents to recruit students on our behalf. For a full list of our approved Agents, please refer to the Our Agents page on our website.

Intake Dates: 2023
Term 1
09Jan 06Feb
06Mar 03Apr
Term 2
1 May 29 May
26 June
Term 3
24 Jul 21 Aug
18 Sep
Term 4
16 Oct 13 Nov
11 Dec

All students undertaking nationally recognised training must have a USI in order to receive a qualification.